Lord, Do Not Pass Me By

Psalm 61:1-2… “Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer. From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I” (KJV). In mid-April one year I was sitting on the sofa and thinking about reports of revival. It seems that God is always moving thousands of miles away from where you are. My spirit began to sing an old hymn, “Pass me not, O gentle Savior, Hear my humble cry; While on others Thou art calling, Do not pass me by. Savior, Savior, hear my humble cry, While on others thou art calling, Do not pass me by.” Some days I wonder if the Lord is passing us by. My spirit was shouting, “Lord, Lord, do not pass us by!” Later, I found in the Scriptures that Abraham had this feeling too. Note Genesis 18:3. Abraham was sitting by the door of his tent; it was a hot day. He saw three men approaching and recognized that they were angels from the Lord. Abraham said, “My LORD, if now I have found favor in thy sight, pass not away, I pray thee, from thy servant.” This was a cry of desperation. God had seen something in Abraham that He liked, sent His angels, and gave the word that Sarah would be giving birth. The only thing that can successfully refresh your spirit is a visitation from the Lord with a specific word. The world is going through a lot of pain and hardships. Our nation too. We surely need a visitation. “Savior, Jesus, do not pass us by.” My mind went to Luke 24:28-32. Jesus had just risen from the grave. Two of the disciples were walking down the road meditating on what had transpired. Jesus drew near and walked with them. They didn’t recognize Jesus. As the chapter goes on, the men arrived home, and it looked as if Jesus would keep on going (pass them by). “And they drew nigh unto the village, whither they went: and he made as though he would have gone further. But they constrained him, saying, Abide with us: for it is toward evening, and the day is far spent. And He went in to tarry with them” (vv. 28-29). Jesus revealed himself in the breaking of bread. The disciples said, “Did not our heart burn within us while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the scriptures?” (v. 32). A good question is, when the Word is preached, does your heart burn? Do the prophecies “burn” within your spirit? Does the Word set your heart on fire? Alas, most folks leave the service unmoved, untouched. Psalm 119 teaches that revival begins when the Word burns within us. Jesus often walks among us and we know it not. Often He sees nothing in us that would bring His favor, a visitation. “Savior, Savior, hear my humble cry, do not pass us by.” Abraham said, “My LORD, if now I have found favor in thy sight, pass not away.” Abraham had seen a vision and had been sitting by the door, watching. The angels came with a word about Sarah and then proceeded towards Sodom. Abraham went with them and asked God to spare the city.

Saints, Jesus is coming soon. Are we watching?

Will He pass us by?

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2013 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved