Prospering In Times Of Evil

Genesis 39:2… “And the LORD was with Joseph, and he was a prosperous man; and he was in the house of his master the Egyptian” (KJV).

If God is with you, you can prosper no matter what situation you are in. The story of Joseph is well known. This chapter starts off with Joseph being brought down to Potiphar’s house as a slave. Potiphar saw that the Lord was with Joseph, so he made him overseer over all that he had. In verse 5, God blessed Potiphar’s house because of Joseph. A Christian employee can be promoted and cause a non-Christian businessman to prosper. At one point in my ministry I was employed in a lumber mill. I graded lumber behind a planer. Often orders were slow in coming and layoffs were possible. Then an order would come for the planer I was working on–I was not laid off. The mill prospered and so did I. The main boss asked me one day, “How do you do it?” I said, “There’s someone within me holding the reins.”

Verses 7-19 shows us how we can be tempted in the workplace. Joseph stood righteously in an evil situation. He said, “I cannot sin against God” (v. 9) Many Christians are never promoted because of their sins in the workplace of lying, cheating, stealing, laziness, and immorality.

In verses 20-23, Potiphar places Joseph in prison. Because the Lord was with him, Joseph prospered in prison. He was made overseer and the prisoners were under Joseph’s control. God will give you His divine protection even when you are in dangerous places. During my time of service in WWII, the Lord favored me with divine protection. His hand was upon me, literally. In one action, an enemy shell exploded in front of me, and the soldier who was with me saw a great big white hand pull me down. When I got up, my rifle and machine gun were demolished but I was unharmed. The soldier just kept staring at me. He told others too. God can prosper and protect you even when you are in bad situations. Believe it… I know. We are living in perilous times. The Lord wants to be with you in times like these. Joseph had a heart for God. He took God seriously, and God prospered him. Are you a blessing in your workplace? The Lord can show you mercy and give you favor just as he did for Joseph (Genesis 39:21).

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved