Psalm 118: A Word In Season, Pt. 1

Psalm 118… This is a good psalm to take a hold of. It teaches that we must take the initiative if we want God’s blessings. The blessing is beyond the gates as we see in verse eighteen. It teaches that we must build up faith through worship before we ask God to help us. It teaches that we don’t have to be “moody” or in bondage because the gates of verse eighteen have been shut to us. People die in their bad moods, but God wants you to live with a good attitude. God wants to open those gates for you, but you must take the steps of faith.

Psalm 118:1-4… Always begin with worship… “O give thanks unto the LORD; for he is good: because his mercy endureth for ever” (v. 1, KJV). This is a factual statement. Our thanks is to the Lord. Why? Because God is good and because His mercy endures forever. The word “good” means “the best, beautiful, cheerful, gracious, kind, loving, precious, always ready to aid you or to prosper you, always mindful of you, always having goods to give you.” The word “mercy” can mean “God’s special personal loving care.” In vv. 2-4, the Holy Spirit is calling the nation, the religious leadership, and every believer to confess now that God’s mercy endures forever. Before you even acknowledge your distress, the Holy Spirit says, “Worship.”

Psalm 118:5-9…I called”… This is personalized. This is not “I called a prayer line” or “I called for congregational intercession or for a national day of prayer.” This is  “I called.” The word “distress” as used here means “in my tight spot” or “when I’m hard pressed.” The word “Lord” here is “Jah” which means “the God of my salvation” or “the God of my deliverance.” Note “God set me in a large place.” The word “large” means “open space, liberty.” The word “place” means “a standing as used for being safe in body, soul, and mind to make you rise and abide above your distress and to make you succeed in life.” Note v. 6, “The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what man can do unto me?” (KJV). Note v. 7, “The LORD taketh my part with them that help me: therefore shall I see my desire upon them that hate me” (KJV). Note v. 8, “It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in man.” It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to put your faith in Adam (unredeemed man). Verse 9 reinforces v. 8: “It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes [delegated authorities]” (such as civic authorities, political authorities, lawyers and judges).

Psalm 118:1-13… The enemies… David’s natural enemies signify types of systems that surround us or systems that are under the devil’s control, such as political systems, financial systems, health care systems, false religious systems, industrial systems, educational systems, and military systems. Ever so many of these systems are out to cause you to fall or to be under their dominion. King David said three times, “In the name of the Lord I will destroy them” (v. 12, KJV), or “In the name of Jesus I will take dominion over them. In Luke 12:31-32 we read, “But rather seek ye the kingdom of God; and all these things shall be added unto you. Fear not, little flock; for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom [dominion].” Jesus gave us dominion and authority over the devil and over all the systems he thrusts at us. Jesus never gave us a message that sends us home on flat tires, discouraged and defeated. Jesus always gives us hope. Jesus rules in the affairs of men and the devil knows it. In v. 13, David tells the devil, “Thou hast thrust sore at me that I might fall: but the Lord helped me.” The devil thrusts to slay you. Jesus helps to free you.

Psalm 118:14-16… David sings… He fills his heart with singing. He sings about the Lord and what He does. The right hand of the Lord carries the day. God resources brought the victory. Not our resources, but His resources…

(To be continued…)

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved