Psalm 118: A Word In Season, Pt. 2

(Part 2 of 2)

Psalm 118:17-18… The Lord will not give us over to death…I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the LORD. The LORD hath chastened me sore: but he hath not given me over unto death” (KJV). Simply put, David was saying, “I will not die the death that the devil designed for me. I will live because that is what God has designed for me.” “This is what I will declare,” David said. The word “declare” means “to put a mark on the wall”; i.e., “to tally a victory, to keep score.” I scored; the devil did not. One for me, nothing for the devil. Hallelujah! The Lord will chasten us or discipline us or train us, but He will never give us over to death.

Psalm 118:19-20… God opens the gates…Open to me the gates of righteousness: I will go into them, and I will praise the LORD: This gate of the LORD, into which the righteous shall enter” (KJV). The gate is the Lord. It is through Him that we enter into God’s presence. Only the righteous enter. If there is sin in your life, get rid of it. When sin is unrepented of, the devil has a claim on you. Unrepentant sin will block your goings and comings. God will resist you with all His force. Revelation 21:27, talking about the gates, reads, “And there shall in no wise enter into it any thing that defileth, neither whatsoever worketh abomination, or maketh a lie: but they which are written in the Lamb’s book of life.”

Psalm 118:21-27… Victory and testimony… God heard David’s sincere prayer. David made the Lord the Lord of his life. The deliverance David received was the Lord’s doing, not his own. The Lord made a day of deliverance for David. He wants to do this for you too. This year can be the year He made for you to get out of debt, to get a better job, to experience divine health, to prosper financially, and to maintain and sustain your life. Verse 25 says “Save now” or “send prosperity now.” The word for “prosperity” as used here means “success,” or “to push forward, to break out.” Verse 26 says, “Bless the one who comes in the name of the LORD. We bless you from the house of the LORD” (NLT). The idea is, “Blessed in the name of Jehovah the Coming One.” That’s Jesus, coming to bless you. One of the meanings of the word “bless” is “creating in you the ability to prosper.” Also, in the name of the Lord, blessed is he who enters (through the gates). The believer who enters through the gates will be blessed from the abode of God with God’s abundance. Verse 27 is a picture of the cross. Christ was our sacrifice. Because of Him we live and move and have our being. David is also saying, “Bind me. I don’t want to leave your presence.” God has given us grace and freedom and joy. You should make the giving of yourself to God a festival. Join your hands in a festive procession right up to the horns of the altar and dance for joy.

Finally… Verses 28-29 Confess “You are my God”… Then exalt Him. The word “God” here is “Elohim,” which means “the creator God who will never be satisfied until He sees Himself reproduced”… in you. The gate is open. Take the initiative.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved