The Temple Keepers, Pt. 1

John 4:23…But the hour cometh, and now is, when the true worshippers shall worship the Father in spirit and in truth: for the Father seeketh such to worship him” (KJV).

Christianity is the transformation of sinners into worshippers of God. Sometimes true worship is difficult because it is both an attitude of the heart and an act. The words “worshipper” and “worshippers” are found only four times in the New Testament. I am especially interested in the word “worshipper” as seen in Acts 19:35, and this is what I want you to look at with me. First, let’s look at the other three verses with the word “worshipper.”

John 4:23… “But the hour cometh, and now is, when the true worshippers shall worship the Father in spirit and in truth: for the Father seeketh such to worship him” (KJV). The word “worshipper” as used here means “one who adores or esteems God, one who renders homage, and one who does service.” Worshipping in spirit and in truth connects your heart and mind with truth about God and about His work in redemption as revealed in Jesus Christ. Psalm 86:11 reads, “Teach me thy way, O LORD; I will walk in thy truth: unite my heart to fear thy name.” The word “fear” means worship. There is both a desire to worship and an act that corresponds to that desire.

John 9:31… “Now we know that God heareth not sinners: but if any man be a worshipper of God, and doeth his will, him he heareth” (KJV). The word “worshipper” as used here refers to being reverent towards God, pious, and devoted to God. God will hear a worshipper whose heart is clean. Note that a worshipper is one who does God’s will. Psalm 66:18 reads, “If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me.” Literally, “If I have seen iniquity in my heart,” that is, if I have indulged in something with the purpose of iniquity, if I have not been willing to abandon and forsake all sin, if I have cherished sin in my soul, if I have gloated over past sins, if I am purposing to commit sin again, the Lord will not hear me; i.e., He will not regard and answer my prayer. The idea is, that in order that prayer may be heard, there must be a purpose to forsake all forms of sin. Only then are you a true worshipper.

Hebrews 10:2…For then would they not have ceased to be offered? because that the worshippers once purged should have had no more conscience of sins” (KJV). The word “worshipper” as used here deals with the repetition of the Old Testament ways of dealing with sin. In the Old Testament, the people went every year to offer sacrifices for cleansing the heart of sin. Had it been accomplished completely, they would not have had to repeat the act year after year. The law could not make them perfect.

(To be continued…)

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved