Conviction: It’s Good For You, Pt. 1

John 16:7-11… Nevertheless I tell you the truth; It is expedient for you that I go away: for if I go not away, the Comforter will not come unto you; but if I depart, I will send him unto you. And when he is come, he will reprove the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment: Of sin, because they believe not on me; Of righteousness, because I go to my Father, and ye see me no more; Of judgment, because the prince of this world is judged” (KJV).

Some time ago, a word came into my spirit, saying, “My people do not know how to handle conviction. They do not know what to do when I convict them. They lash back with anger, with complaints, with resistance, and with self-justification.” The word “reprove” means “to convict, tell a fault, admonish, convince of an error, overcome by evidence, have a compelling to admit truth.” The Holy Spirit wants to reach your heart to better your life. The word “convict” comes from the Latin word convincere, which means “to overcome.” The Holy Spirit wants to show an area in your life that needs conquering. The Holy Spirit presents you with evidence within yourself and appeals to your conscience. He deals with the unrighteousness in your life and brings you to a decision. God’s purpose in conviction is to save, heal, and correct your life to train you in good living. Notice the Spirit’s threefold work…

The Holy Spirit reproves the world of sin… He awakens your conscience and shows you the wrongs in your life. He will deal with your world of unbelief, and He will deal with your world of sin. You can be sure of it. He is the Spirit of truth. There is a lot of “truth disorder” in the world today.

The Holy Spirit convicts you of righteousness… He gives you the revelation of righteousness. He will show you what you can do to conquer the wrongs in your life. He will show you that there is a power that works in righteousness. That righteousness is seen in the Lord Jesus Christ. Jesus is alive and works by the Holy Spirit to bring you into victorious living.

The Holy Spirit convinces you of judgment… The problem in your life is conquered because the devil is judged. Conviction judges the wrong, the thing or habit that was controlling you. That demon, that sickness, or that unrighteousness is judged because Jesus triumphed over the devil. In simple terms, verses 7-11 teach that the Holy Spirit will come to you and say, “Here’s your problem, the root problem behind your troubles. This is what I can do: I have judged it.”

(To be continued…)

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved