Food For Thought: Terror

Psalm 91:5 reads, “Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night” (KJV). What is your terror? Is it the fear of fire, the voice of the thief that comes by night or perhaps sudden sickness? We live in such a world that it is full of terror, but terror should not rule our living. Proverbs 3:25 reads, “Be not afraid of sudden fear, neither of the desolation of the wicked, when it cometh.” The next verse reads, “For the Lord shall be thy confidence, and shall keep thy foot from being taken.” This is God’s promise, that our Father is here, near us daily. He is the Watcher, the Friend; nothing happens without His knowledge. Terror is not a threat to Him. Terror is a threat to those who have a guilty conscience, and it’s the sinning believer who should be afraid. Christians may face terror, but God does not cast them away, nor has He shut up His loving kindness.

*******

PAUL TESTIFIES ABOUT GIVING… Acts 20:33-35, I have coveted no man’s silver, or gold, or apparel. Yea, ye yourselves know, that these hands have ministered unto my necessities, and to them that were with me. I have shewed you all things, how that so laboring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive” (KJV). Do you see the truth here? Paul is saying “I am not blessed by your giving; I am blessed by my giving” (vv. 33-34). Note that along with this, Galatians 6:6-8 reads, “Let him that is taught in the word communicate unto him that teacheth in all good things. Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap. For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.” Paul was talking about giving here as well. Notice that if you sow (give), you will reap; you are deceiving yourself if you keep sowing and sowing and never reap. Are you really sowing? Expect God to bless you. YOU are blessed by your giving. I can testify to all of this. To this date I have given a full fifty-four years of serving God. In giving myself to Him and to others, I have never been a money-hungry preacher. It’s always been, “How can I best help others?” Now as I continue to minister, I am blessed, anointed with good health, a good mind, a good memory, without any debts and having born-again children and grandchildren who love the Lord. 1 John 5:5 reads, “Who is he that overcometh the world, but he that believeth that Jesus is the Son of God?

I overcame because I believe that Jesus is the Son of God.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved