Mercy–The Key That Opens The Heart Of God, Pt. 1

Deuteronomy 4:31… “(For the LORD thy God is a merciful God;) he will not forsake thee, neither destroy thee, nor forget the covenant of thy fathers which he sware unto them” (KJV). Exodus 34:6-7 And the LORD passed by before him, and proclaimed, The LORD, The LORD God, merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abundant in goodness and truth, Keeping mercy for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin, and that will by no means clear the guilty; visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children, and upon the children’s children, unto the third and to the fourth generation.”

Mercy is the master key that unlocks God’s heart. It is one of God’s character qualities. God is rich in mercy (Ephesians 2:4). Over and over in the Scriptures, we are told that God is merciful and that His mercy endures forever. It was God’s mercy which saved us and it is His mercy that keeps us. Luke 1:50 reads, “And His mercy is on them that fear him from generation to generation” (KJV). God’s mercy lasts a lot longer than any troubles you might have. Mercy is an everyday need, an all-year need, a right now need.

The word “mercy” is used approximately 276 times in the KJV and the word “merciful” is used 40 times (there are many Hebrew and Greek words used which mean this). These words mean “God’s gratuitous compassion word and deed, divine grace, active kindness, favor, loving-kindness, pity, faithfulness, deep and abiding love”; i.e., the personal attention God gives to His people. Mercy also refers to God’s eagerness to save and His active desire to remove the cause of distress in others. Mercy is God’s acts towards man.  God’s grace describes His attitude towards the sinner, but His mercy is His attitude towards those in distress. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 says, “Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God” (KJV). Note that God is the Father of mercies.

King David uses the word “mercy” in many of his songs. In Psalm 6:2-5, King David, when vexed in soul because of a physical ailment, called upon God and said, “Have mercy upon me, O LORD; for I am weak: O LORD, heal me; for my bones are vexed. My soul is also sore vexed: but thou, O LORD, how long? Return, O LORD, deliver my soul: oh save me for thy mercies’ sake. For in death there is no remembrance of thee: in the grave who shall give thee thanks?” (KJV). Psalm 9:13 When in trouble, he prayed, “Have mercy upon me, O LORD; consider my trouble which I suffer of them that hate me, thou that liftest me up from the gates of death.” Psalm 13:5… David says, “I have trusted in thy mercy, my heart shall rejoice in thy salvation.” Psalm 21:7“Through the mercy of the most High he shall not be moved.” Psalm 23:6 David confesses, “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.” In Psalm 59:16, King David sings of God’s mercy: “But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning: for thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble.” The Bible encourages singing about the mercies of God.

(To be continued…)

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved