When Everything Closes Around You, Pt. 1

Psalm 116 teaches that there are days when it seems that every thing is closing in around you, when the daily pressures and problems just about do us in. Many are feeling the same thing that the psalmist felt. “The sorrows of death compassed me, and the pains of hell got hold upon me: I found trouble and sorrow” (v. 3, KJV). These sorrows, pains, and troubles come under the heading of the three “D’s” and the three “F’s”: debt, dirt, and the devil; and friends, foes, and family. The problem baffling many people is this: “How do I get out of the hole that I am in without making it bigger?” I would like to take you through Psalm 116 and show you how the psalmist solved the problems that were closing in on him. I encourage you to welcome these truths into your life. Why? Because these truths can become the revelations that you need right now. Do not be afraid to look squarely and honestly at all the aspects of your life which are coming up for review. If you are messed up, you can have a fresh start. You can use these truths to better your next spiritual season.

Psalm 116:1-2… “I love the LORD, because he hath heard my voice and my supplications. Because he hath inclined his ear unto me, therefore will I call upon Him as long as I live” (KJV). Both your past and your present are faced here. The past, because you have found that God listens and that He has heard you; the future, because you have found that when God listens your future is secure. Your future will always be secure. Why? Because as long as you live, you are going to talk to Him. Have you got a problem? God listened in the past, and He will listen today. God listens and hears.

Psalm 116:3…The sorrows of death compassed me, and the pains of hell got hold upon me: I found trouble and sorrow” (KJV). The words “sorrows and pains,” in their meaning as used here, gives us a picture of the old Wild West. The psalmist felt that there was a noose around his neck and he would get his feet kicked out from under him, leaving him to just twist in the wind. Can you imagine the worry, fear, and apprehension that was going through his mind? His mind was going over and over the words of his enemies. “We got you now. Let’s see how you get out of this one.” Perhaps someone reading this is saying, “That sounds like me you are talking about.” Don’t listen to the voice of your enemies. The enemy wants to keep you knocked down when what you need is to arise and get up on your feet.

Psalm 116:4… “Then called I upon the name of the LORD; O LORD, I beseech thee, deliver my soul” (KJV). This is the right prayer when the noose gets tighter. It’s time to remember that old song, “If we ever needed the Lord before, I surely do need Him now.” Romans 10:13 reads, “Whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”  Psalm 50:15 reads, “Call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify Me.” If you want the noose around your neck to slacken, call upon the Lord now.

Psalm 116:5… “Gracious is the LORD, and righteous; yea, our God is merciful” (KJV). When you called, three things happened immediately. God’s grace, righteousness, and mercy rose up. God wasted no time. Psalm 69:33 reads, “The Eternal listens to a life in need” (Moffatt). God’s grace is His “operating power.” God’s righteousness will make the right decision on your behalf. God will not do you wrong. God’s mercy is His loving-kindness, His love and compassion.

(To be continued…)

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved