God Cheers Up King David, Pt. 1

2 Samuel 22:1-3… First, David properly identifies the Lord. The Lord is my Rock, Fortress, Deliverer, Shield, Horn of my Salvation, High Tower, Refuge, and Savior. He calls God by eight names. Eight is the number of new beginnings and of new life. After the defeat of the giants David enjoyed new life. When he had a problem, he let God manage his life. He pursued God in times of crisis and God saved him. God said in the last days violence will fill the land as it was in the days of Noah (Matthew 24:37-38). Judgment came when violence was at its peak. We are very close to the judgment of God because violence is filling the land. When David had personal problems, he ran to the Lord. Today, the giants of Goliath are loose upon society. Only the Lord can save you. Make sure you properly identify the Lord of your life.

2 Samuel 22:4-7… Second, deliverance came when David called upon the Lord. Note the words “I will.” In verse 4, David made a choice, “I will call on the Lord, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies” (KJV). Note also, “The waves of death compassed me, the floods of ungodly men made me afraid; The sorrows of hell compassed me about; the snares of death prevented me; In my distress I called upon the LORD and cried to my God: and he did hear my voice” (vv. 5-7). David was in a fight for his life, and he called upon God. This was warfare at the strongest level. There is a level of warfare that we must let God fight for us. God heard me when I called, David said. The Lord will hear you too.

2 Samuel 22:8-19… Third, God responds. Verse 8, God shook the earth. “How’s this for a start, David? This will get their attention.” Verse 8, God was angry, to the point that the foundations of heaven shook. “Look, David, I’m angry at those who would hurt you.” Verse 9, smoke and fire came out of His nostrils. Verse 10, God’s countenance changed. It got dark; in other words, God’s disposition changed. He was not smiling. When God’s face changes, He is a terror to His enemies. Verses 11-13, God rides the cherubs; He is seen on the wings of the wind. This speaks of His swiftness to act. Verse 14, God utters His voice; He was speaking to David’s problem. Verses 15-16, God’s enemies scattered. God’s enemies run from Him. Your enemies run from you too when you discover them and speak words of rebuke. We have this God-given authority. Ephesians 6:15 speaks of the gospel of peace. The gospel of peace is the rhema word that you utter at the devil. The devil cannot stand against the word of the Lord. Note verses 17-18; David says, “[God] drew me out of many waters” (v. 17, KJV) or the dangers he was in and from the enemies that hated him. There are things too strong for us to handle. Turn them over to God. No devil or Goliath can stop God when He begins to move on your behalf.

2 Samuel 22:20-26… Fourth, deliverance came because “God delighted in me.” The word “delighted” means that God inclined Himself toward me because He was pleased with me. That’s powerful. Is God delighted with you? Ephesians 5:25 teaches that Jesus gives Himself to the church because He loves the church. Verses 21-28 tells us that deliverance came because of David’s right behavior. His behavior was based on righteousness. “The Lord rewarded me according to my righteousness” or “my holy lifestyle.” David testified in these verses that his hands were clean, he kept the ways of the Lord, he never wickedly departed from the Lord, he kept God’s judgments and statutes in front of him, he was upright with God, and he kept himself from iniquity. “Deliverance came,” David said, “because of how I looked in God’s eyes.” We forget this, don’t we? God does look at us; “The eyes of the LORD are upon the righteous, and his ears are open unto their cry” (Psalm 34:15, KJV; see also 1 Peter 3:12). We all too often worry about how we look in our own eyes and how we look to others. Loose living deafens God’s ears (Psalm 66:18).

(To be continued…)

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved