Different Kinds Of Faith

Faith is based upon how people believe in God and how they receive His word.

Common faith Titus 1:4, “To Titus, mine own son after the common faith: Grace, mercy, and peace, from God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ our Saviour” (KJV). We all were born with this faith. When we were born again, this faith was released in us. God wants to move us from common faith to contending faith. Jude 1:3 says, “Beloved, when I gave all diligence to write unto you of the common salvation, it was needful for me to write unto you, and exhort you that ye should earnestly contend for the faith which was once delivered unto the saints.”

Little faith… Matthew 8:26, 14:31, “Oh ye of little faith” (KJV). This is the faith that puts a limitation on what the Lord can do. Fear hinders faith.

Temporary faith… Luke 8:13, “They on the rock are they, which, when they hear, receive the word with joy; and these have no root, which for a while believe, and in time of temptation fall away” (KJV). This is the kind of faith that believes when things are going well. When trials come, this faith leaves.

Strong faith… Romans 4:20, “He staggered not at the promise of God through unbelief; but was strong in faith, giving glory to God” (KJV). This is having faith whatever the circumstances might be. This is faith in God and not in symptoms. This is standing on the word of God when things seem impossible.

Active faith… James 2:18“Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: show me thy faith without thy works, and I will show thee my faith by my works” (KJV). This is working faith, believing and doing. This is faith in action. The woman who touched the hem of His garment had active faith. Mark 5:34 says, “And he said unto her, Daughter, thy faith hath made thee whole; go in peace, and be whole of thy plague.”

Great faith… Matthew 8:10, “When Jesus heard it, he marvelled, and said to them that followed, Verily I say unto you, I have not found so great faith, no, not in Israel” (KJV). This is faith that responds to the spoken word. This is faith that understands the authority of God. This is faith that understands the power of the spoken word coming from a ministry in authority. Matthew 15:28 says, “Then Jesus answered and said unto her, O woman, great is thy faith: be it unto thee even as thou wilt. And her daughter was made whole from that very hour.”

Divine faith… Galatians 2:20, “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me” (KJV). This is the faith that lives by the principles, teachings, and precepts of life that comes from Christ.

No faith… Mark 4:40, “And he said unto them, Why are ye so fearful? how is it that ye have no faith?” (KJV). Jesus said this to the apostles. There are times we have “no faith.” We are unable to believe. This does not mean that we have no faith but that our faith is not operating. It’s like having a car that doesn’t work. God told the children of Israel that he would hide His face from them because they had no faith. Deuteronomy 32:20 says, “And he said, I will hide my face from them, I will see what their end shall be: for they are a very froward generation, children in whom is no faith.”

The Bible also talks about precious faith (2 Peter 1:1), growing faith (2 Thessalonians 1:3), rich faith (James 2:5), perfect faith (James 2:22), unfeigned faith and pure faith (1 Timothy 1:5), shipwrecked faith (1 Timothy 1:19), overcoming, victorious faith (1 John 5:4), and holy faith (Jude 1:20).

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved