The Commandments Of Jesus

Psalm 19:7… “The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul” (KJV). The psalmist who wrote this verse truly understood the importance that God places on divine law. A law (commandment, precept, or statute) is a rule that governs any action or operation. The psalmist was referring to a category of divine law called moral law. Moral law is a law that establishes definite rules of right and wrong. Today, in our nation, we have rejected the moral laws as set forth in the Bible. Every once in a while I get a rebuke from someone who receives my monthly paper, such as, “Didn’t you know the commandments are no longer in existence since the new covenant was established?” There are no words in the entire Bible that are more important than the words spoken by Jesus. Jesus said, “Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy, but to fulfill” (Matthew 5:17). Also, “He that rejecteth me, and receiveth not my words, hath one that judgeth him: the word that I have spoken, the same shall judge him in the last day. For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father which sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak. And I know that his commandment is life everlasting: whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto me, so I speak” (John 12:48-50). Jesus also said, “He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me” (John 14:21). Jesus said in His Great Commission, “Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen” (Matthew 28:19-20). Revelation 22:14 reads, “Blessed are they that do his commandments, that they may have a right to the tree of life.”   

In the face of such plain statements, many misguided teachers ignore the words of Jesus. The word “commandment” means “an authoritative prescription,” a precept, or put plainly, words to live by.” We need His words to live by, daily. Many people want Christ for what He does, but they do not want Him to tell them what to do. The people in Paul’s day wanted a system of law without Christ. Today, many want the Christ who will set them free from the obligations of divine law, but such a Christ does not exist in the Word of God.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved