God’s Temple

Romans 12:1… “So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him” (The Message). As Christians, we must rightly understand the use of our bodies in our service for Christ. Our bodies are temples for God to dwell therein. We need to treat our bodies as receptacles for God to fill. There are two great spheres in this world, the vast sphere of human need, and the sphere of God’s ability to meet that need. The connection between the two is my body. So often we pray, “Lord, bless me, fill me.” But God doesn’t do it. God wants to pour out His blessing. The trouble is not the source; it’s us. We are preoccupied with our comforts, our material possessions. We look for God to come to us from the outside, but He is inside already, with all His power and strength and compassion. Christian, develop an attitude towards your body that it is God’s temple (1 Corinthians 6:19-20). He is there, is He not?

*******

2 Timothy 3:1… “You should know this, Timothy, that in the last days there will be very difficult times” (NLT). The most difficult time of our Christian life is not the beginning or the end; it is the road between. The beginning was filled with joy. There was a cheering section when I made the decision to follow Christ. The end of my Christian life will also be filled with joy. There will also be a cheering section coming from those who went to that glorious city before me. The road between the beginning and the end is the hard part. There are desolate places on that road, there are dry places, there are mountains that rear up in front of us, there are many storms, and infirmities abound. Often our friends are too busy with their own journey and some have withdrawn themselves. Sometimes it seems as if God is too busy elsewhere. However hard the road between is, we must live trusting the Living Word of God. We must endure, “as seeing him who is invisible” (Hebrews 11:27, KJV). Yes, life can be hard… but the same God that started our life will stand with us faithfully until the end. “Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness” (Isaiah 41:10). Jesus is our daily cheering section (Matthew 28:20).

*******

PSALM 40:1-3… “I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD” (KJV).

*******

GOD IS YOUR GOD ALWAYS… whether you are going through a mountaintop experience or a valley experience. Listen to this poem…

Life is easy when you are up on the mountain
And you got peace of mind like you’ve never known.
But then things change, when you’re down in the valley.
Don’t lose faith, for you’re never alone.

For the God on the mountain is still God in the valley.
When things go wrong, He’ll make them right.
And the God of the good times is still God in the bad times.
The God of the day is still God in the night.

We talk of faith way up on that mountain.
Talk comes so easy when life’s at its best.
Now down in the valleys of trials and temptations
That’s where your faith is really put to the test.

For the God on the mountain is the God in the valley.
When things go wrong, He’ll make them right.
And the God of the good times is still God in the bad times.
The God of the day is still God in the night.

(Lynda Randle, “God on the Mountain”)

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2013 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved