The Senior Pastor

Many years ago a church was honoring its senior pastor who had retired a few years before. The present pastor asked the ninety-two-year-old senior pastor to come up to the podium and exhort a little. After a warm welcome, he walked slowly to the pulpit and with his hands gripping the pulpit, he said, “When I was asked to come here today, the pastor asked me to tell of the greatest lesson that I ever learned in my fifty years of preaching. I thought about it for a few days and knew that there was one thing that I could always rely upon when fears and heartbreak and tears would grip me. And that one thing is… “Jesus loves me! This I know, for the Bible tells me so. Little ones to Him belong; they are weak, but He is strong. Yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.” When the old pastor finished, the church was quiet. Tears streamed down the cheeks of many. This simple truth, “Jesus loves me,” ministered to the congregation that day. The following is a “senior” version of Jesus loves me. It is cute. Read it and enjoy it and then pass it on.

Jesus loves me, this I know,
Though my hair is white as snow.
Though my sight is growing dim,
Still He bids me trust in Him.

Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
For the Bible tells me so.

Though my steps are oh, so slow,
With my hand in His I’ll go.
On through life, let come what may,
He’ll be there to lead the way.

Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
For the Bible tells me so.

Though I am no longer young,
I have much which He’s begun.
Let me serve Christ with a smile,
Go with others the extra mile.

Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
For the Bible tells me so.

When the nights are dark and long,
In my heart He puts a song,
Telling me in words so clear,
“Have no fear, for I am near.”

Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
For the Bible tells me so.

When my work on earth is done,
And my life’s victories won,
He will take me home above.
Then, I’ll understand His love.

Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
For the Bible tells me so.

I love Jesus; does He know?
Have I ever told him so?
Jesus loves to hear me say
That I love Him every day.

Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
For the Bible tells me so.

Author Unknown

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2013 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved