Patience And Its Perfect Work

James 1:4… “But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing” (KJV). The word “patience” basically means “having the power to wait.” The word “perfect” means “complete, fully grown mentally and morally.” Many people have a flaw in their patience. The prodigal is a good example. His flaw was not in the fact that he wanted his inheritance; it was in his desire to have it right now, whatever the cost. Impatience was his sin. The prodigal could not wait for the Father’s time and the Father’s plan. It had to be his time, and that time was right now. How often when we pray we say, “Lord, heal now–answer now–give it to me now. Do it now, Lord”? And what happens? God denies our requests because of our impatience. Our impatience says to God, “I do not trust your time. My time is better.” Patience is accepting a difficult situation without giving God a deadline to remove it. How often we lose our goals and ambitions because we too, by our impatience, do it our way instead of doing things God’s way. Impatience is telling God what is important right now, and that is a mistake on our part. God will give when the time is ready in His eyes, not ours. The psalmist said, “I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry” (Psalm 40:1). Don’t be one that prays and asks God for patience and then says, “I want it right now.”

“One moment of patience may ward off great disaster. One moment of impatience may ruin a whole life.” –Chinese proverb

*******

When you do things right, the Lord will stand by you. 2 Timothy 4:16-18… “At my first answer no man stood with me, but all men forsook me: I pray God that it may not be laid to their charge. Notwithstanding the Lord stood with me, and strengthened me; that by me the preaching might be fully known, and that all the Gentiles might hear: and I was delivered out of the mouth of the lion. And the Lord shall deliver me from every evil work, and will preserve me unto his heavenly kingdom: to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen” (KJV).

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2013 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved