Don’t Let The Devil Knock You Out

2 Timothy 1:11-12 “Whereunto I am appointed a preacher, and an apostle, and a teacher of the Gentiles. For the which cause I also suffer these things: nevertheless I am not ashamed: for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day” (KJV).

In this verse, Paul gives us some insight as to why the devil attacks your goals, your visions, your calling, your job, your family, and your church. What is it that gets the devil so upset, and why does he rise up against your efforts? If God has chosen you, why are you going through upheavals, difficulties, and extreme pressures? Paul gives us some insights. Notice that Paul says, “I am called to be a preacher, an apostle, and a teacher. My mission is to the Gentiles.” The Message Bible reads, “It’s also the cause of all this trouble I’m in. But I have no regrets. I couldn’t be more sure of my ground—the One I’ve trusted in can take care of what he’s trusted me to do right to the end.” The devil was attacking Paul’s calling. The devil will attack your calling too.

Notice the word “suffer” in our text. This word means “to suffer as the result of outside forces or outside circumstances.” It could be a physical suffering, a mental suffering because of outside pressures, or a financial suffering. It could be by circumstances that are beyond your control. At the time that Paul wrote this, he was sitting in a Roman jail awaiting his execution. The devil could not destroy the Apostle Paul, so he manipulated outside forces against him and his calling. The devil did not like God’s calling on Paul’s life. Paul suffered because of God’s appointment for his life. Paul was not moved by the devil’s attack. Why? Because of his trust in God. “God called me,” Paul was saying, “and I am determined to finish the mission that he gave me.” Paul’s determination was to finish, not to quit. God’s power works in people who are determined to fulfill their calling. The Holy Spirit’s power in you is effective when you have decided to finish your God-given task. A good question is, Are you steadfast? Have you staying power that enables you to finish the path God has chosen for you? Are you committed to your goals? Many people never make it to the finish because they failed in their attitude. They gave it their best shot, but their commitment was not strong enough. So they made a decision to quit and the devil knocked them out of their calling through manipulating outside forces. God’s power is on your side and you can do what God has called you to do. Paul was not ashamed because he was suffering. He knew in whom he believed and he knew that God was committed to him.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2013 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved