Those God Puts Over Us

Psalm 51:6-7… “Behold, thou desirest truth in the inward parts: and in the hidden part thou shalt make me to know wisdom. Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow” (KJV).

God is looking for a heart that is totally yielded to Him. It is quite possible that in that process, He will farm me out to other teachers for my spiritual education. The Jews in Jeremiah’s day were told, “Serve the king of Babylon and live.” They were there in Babylon for 70 years until they were purged of their idolatry. The king of Babylon was their temporary master. The Jews cooperated with Nebuchadnezzar and lived.

The godly king Hezekiah could not cure the Jews of idolatry, but God chose a pagan king to humble them. There are lessons in this for us. My touchy neighbor may do me more good than my pastor. My atheistic boss may purge me of my pride faster and better than my Bible class teacher. God does not quibble over who will bring us to humility. If He could use pagans to purge the Jews of sin, He can use sinners to purge us of sin.

God desires truth in our inward parts. He will use unspiritual people as tools for the fine work of chiseling His character in us. It’s time Christians change their attitudes towards the unspiritual and worldly-minded people who are part of the area we live in. So, my Christian friends, start praising God for the tools He uses to shape your life.

Deuteronomy 8:1-5 teaches the purpose of testing. God wants to know what is in your heart. Israel of old was strengthened through testing. Their faith was tested, their obedience was tested, and their endurance (stamina) was tested. The desert, the sand, and the heat became God’s tools to teach Israel humility. Perhaps the purpose of the test that you are going through at this time is to make you a better and stronger person, a believer yielded to God. Eventually this testing brings you to your personal Canaan.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2013 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved