Hurts That Will Hurt You

Job 9:27… “Though I say, ‘I will forget my complaint, I will leave off my sad countenance and be cheerful’” (NASB). In the next verse, Job says that he was afraid of all his sorrows. Setbacks will take the joy out of living. Our faith weakens when we collect hurts; our progress stops. Job was teaching that he would not let hurts hurt him. Rejections, defeats, and failures can create negative thoughts. Job lived in the land of Uz (which means “counsel”). He was blameless and upright, one who feared God and who turned away from evil (Job 1:1). He had a great family and was considered one of the greatest men of the east. He lost everything when demonic attacks came against him. He lost his health, wealth, and family. He hurt, his wife hurt, and his friends hurt. He was knocked down but not out.

In our text, Job checked his negative thinking and said, “I will forget my complaint. I will leave off my sad countenance; I will be cheerful.” Job knew that carrying sorrow would hurt him even more. Job is teaching us that when we look inward with complaint and murmurings, we do not look so good. Job used his faith in God; He knew that God could put his life back together. His medicine was a strong belief in God. Many of you reading this are carrying hurts, you are complaining, and you are murmuring. Through Job, the Holy Spirit is saying, “Quit your complaints. Carrying sorrows will hurt you; silence your voice of unbelief.” The Amplified Bible reads, “I will forget my complaint, I will put off my sad countenance, and be of good cheer and brighten up.” You can do this too; let God cheer you up and let the devil see that your joy is in the Lord. The devil can’t stand that; he will fear, and he will flee. John 16:33 tells us that in the world you will have pressures, but to be of good cheer because Jesus has overcome the world.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2013 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved