Diseased Appetites

Matthew 4:23… “And Jesus went about all Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, and preaching the gospel of the kingdom, and healing all manner of sickness and all manner of disease among the people” (KJV).

I asked the Lord, “Have you a message that you want to go into this month’s mailing?”  The Lord gave me a short dream. In the dream, a teenager came to me for prayer. He said that his appetite was out of order; he craved junk food. I prayed for him, and he fell down under the power of the Holy Spirit and lay still. After a few minutes, he said that he was back and that he had run to tell his mother he had been healed of a wrong eating habit that had been causing friction in the home.

I knew then that the Lord wanted me to talk about “out-of-order appetites.” The word “sickness” in my text can mean “to have a diseased appetite, a craving.” The word “disease” means a softness or a weakness in your system. I sense very strongly that someone reading this message has an eating disorder. In the 1950s, a man phoned me and said, “My wife is very fearful and terrified. Can you come and pray for her?” I went and found a very terrified woman; it was their meal time, and she was seeing demons who were tormenting her about food. I rebuked the demons and cast them out; she was healed immediately. Twenty years later, a man came to me and told me that he worked with a man who told him that I had cast a demon out of his wife years before. His wife never had that problem again; she was healed by the power of the Holy Spirit. When the Holy Spirit heals you, it lasts forever.

One Sunday morning, I had the congregation stand and I asked them to name their problem silently to the Lord. I prayed a healing prayer. In that prayer I mentioned that someone had an “out-of-order appetite, an out-of-order craving.” That evening in the service (oh yes, it was in the day when evening church services were the norm), a lady stood up and said that the Lord had healed her of a craving that she had for eating mashed potatoes. She said that she would eat mashed potatoes until she became sick. That morning she was healed and her craving for mashed potatoes never returned. The Lord heals people from the eating disorder of gluttony.

In 1969, a very heavy lady came for prayer; we had a guest evangelist speaking at the assembly. Her heart was failing, her legs were swollen, and she could hardly walk. I was standing behind her when the evangelist laid hands on her and prayed. The Holy Spirit took her and threw her about twenty-five feet against a wall. When she got up she was healed. Not only that, the Lord took off about twenty-five pounds off her, perhaps it was more. She came back and testified the next night, healed by the power of the Holy Spirit. Out-of-order appetites cause a lot of physical problems. God can take off the extra weight that people put on because they have a diseased appetite.

Many believers have out-of-order eating habits. Some days, their cravings for food are motivated by the devil. Obesity is a big problem in this nation. The Lord wants to heal you as you read this, seeing that He wanted me to write about these testimonies. I can authentically use His name. So, in the name of Jesus, I curse the out-of-order demonic craving for food that can hurt you. I bind the power of inordinate craving. Be healed in the name of Jesus…

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2013 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved