Transformed Into His Image

Isaiah 53:11… “He shall see of the travail of his soul, and shall be satisfied” (KJV). “Lord, what is the travail of Your soul?” Most always we think it is the agonies of Gethsemane, the sufferings of the cross, the thorns, the nails, the mocking etc. It is that to be sure… but there is more. Just as the mother travails to bring her baby into the world and then travails even more to bring that baby to maturity, so the Lord travails to bring forth spiritually mature children in His image. So then, we know that the Lord travails for us. “Lord, my question now is… Are you satisfied with Your work in my life? Has Your travail for my life, the sufferings of the cross, Your disciplines, Your concerns been in vain? Is my heart unmoved as when You first began to correct and transform me?”

God says of Ephraim in Hosea 7:8, “Ephraim is a cake not turned [a half-baked pancake]” (KJV). “Lord, am I an embarrassment? Lord, can You display me proudly as you did Job?” Job 1:8 says, “Hast thou considered my servant Job, that there is none like him in the earth, a perfect and an upright man, one that feareth God, and escheweth evil?

Every believer must take the Lord’s travail seriously. Jesus is not playing games when He travails to bring us into maturity (His image). Some vessels that the Lord makes become marred, so much so that He makes it over (Jeremiah 18:4). It is possible to be a castaway (1 Corinthians 9:27). Some believers may be ashamed at the coming of Jesus (1 John 2:28). King David prayed in Psalm 71:1, “In thee, O LORD, do I put my trust: let me never be put to confusion” (KJV), or “Let me never be ashamed.” David trusted God to build him into His image. 2 Corinthians 3:18 says, “But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.”

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved