They Looked To The Shepherd

Psalm 23:1-2… “The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters” (KJV). Ezekiel 34:14-15 tells us that the Lord’s flock shall lie down in a good fold, that the Lord will feed the flock and will cause them to lie down. Let me tell you of an interesting vision the Lord gave me a few years ago…

I saw (in a vision or just a picture in the spirit) a flock of sheep grazing in a green pasture. Every once in a while the flock was startled by something and they would stand with lifted heads and look around. Then they would look towards me as if to check with me, and when they saw me they returned to grazing. I wondered within myself what caused them to be startled and why they weren’t lying down. Then the Lord spoke and said, “The shepherd must be visible to the sheep.”

I read years ago that sheep will not lie down unless they are free from fear, friction, pests, flies, parasites, and hunger. In the vision the Lord impressed upon me that the shepherd must be visible to the sheep. Many of today’s shepherds are away too much, so the sheep are not at rest, and they startle easily. Notice the word “maketh” me to lie down in verse two. The word in English is the same as in Psalm 18:33, “He maketh my feet like hinds’ feet, and setteth me upon my high places.” The word “maketh” (Strong’s H7737) as used in Psalm 18:33 means “to make level, to bring into balance, to equalize, to adjust, to bring harmony.” This is what the Songs of Solomon teaches. The Shulamite asked the king, “Tell me, O thou whom my soul loveth, where thou feudist, where thou makest thy flock to rest.” The king replied, “Beside the shepherd’s tents” (Song of Solomon 1:7-8). In Song of Solomon 2:4 we read, “His banner over me was love,” or “He set in order His love in me.” It took eight chapters of adjusting, of bringing balance, of leveling her life to bring her to a place where she could lie down in rest where nothing in this world or the demonic world could cause her to be startled. When the shepherd is away, the sheep will startle. Sheep are timid and panic easily. If one runs, a dozen will run in fear. In my vision when the sheep were startled, they checked the shepherd; they looked toward the shepherd. When the shepherd was visible to the sheep, they lacked nothing. There was security. They were able to lie down in peace and rest.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved