Just This Once, Lord

JUST THIS ONCE, LORD… I want to come to you with no problems or requests. I just want to say thank you for your forgiveness when I fail, for the sheer joy of sleep when I’m tired, for the justice of your laws when people are cruel, for all your remedies for sickness when I am ill, for the order you bring when I am confused, for the assurance you give when I feel inadequate among my peers, for the joy of helping others when I see people in need, for the reality of your world when I stray too far into fantasy, for your calming influence when I start to panic, for the fun that refreshes when everything gets too serious, for the renewal that comes in quietness and silence when I’m dizzy being busy in a hectic world. Thank you, Lord. But most of all, thank you for your abiding presence that makes every day a joy to be in. –From an e-mail to Pastor Belobaba

*****************

GOVERNMENT AT WORK… A little boy wanted a hundred dollars for a project and prayed for two weeks but nothing happened. He decided to write God requesting the hundred dollars. When the postal authorities received the letter, they re-addressed it and sent it to the President. The President was impressed and sent the lad a five-dollar bill. He reasoned that five dollars would be a lot of money to the lad. The lad was delighted for the five dollars and sat down to write God a thank-you note. “Dear God, thank You very much for sending me five dollars. However, I noticed that for some reason You had to send it through Washington, D.C., and as usual, they deducted ninety-five dollars. Love, Tommy.”

******************

THE CHOICE TO REJOICE… A grief-stricken woman was sharing her feelings with a friend. “Sorrow does color life, doesn’t it?” The friend replied, “Yes, it does,” and then added, “but I intend to choose the colors.” The prophet Habakkuk expressed the same intention. Facing the possible loss of crops and herds he said, “Yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation” (Habakkuk 3:18, KJV). The words “I will”  showed the prophet’s faith.

******************

PREACHING THE GOSPEL… An elderly preacher was advising a younger preacher on the importance of the gospel. He said, “Preach a full gospel, Christ and nothing less. Preach a plain gospel, Christ and nothing more. Preach a pure gospel, Christ and nothing else. If you preach philosophy, men will applaud; but if you preach Christ, men will repent” (Galatians 1:6-10).

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved