Hitting The Nail On The Head

Isaiah 22:20-23… Eliakim (“established by God”) was told by Isaiah, “And I will fasten him as a nail in a sure place; and he shall be for a glorious throne to his father’s house” (v. 23, KJV). Here was a man who became a nail in a sure place: ruling in the kingdom of God. There is a need today to fill the pews with established individuals, just as there is a need to fill the pulpits with established ministries. Matter of fact, there are more vacancies in the pews than there are in the pulpits. There are “sure places” waiting for those who are established by God. The bigger the “nail” you are, the bigger the hammer to fit you into that “sure place.” God uses the hammer of His word to fit you into your place. If you can’t stand the hammer, maybe you are a thumbtack that only needs pushing. Thumbtacks are for paper… but God is wanting “nails” in sure places to hold up His church.

(Excerpt from a message preached by Brian Smithyman from England)

***************

The Two Boxes

I have in my hands two boxes
Which God gave me to hold.
He said, “Put all your sorrows in the black,
And all your joys in the gold.”
I heeded His words, and in the two boxes
Both my joys and sorrows I stored.
But tho’ the gold became heavier each day
The black was as light as before.
With curiosity, I opened the black
I wanted to find out why.
And I saw in the base of the box, a hole
Which my sorrows had fallen out by.
I showed the hole to God, and mused aloud,
“I wonder where my sorrows could be.”
He smiled a gentle smile at me,
“My child, they’re all here with me.”
I asked, “God, why give me the boxes,
Why the black with the hole?”
“The gold is for you to count your blessings,
The black is for you to let go.”

–Author Unknown

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved