Associating With Deceptive Men

Psalm 26:4… “I have not associated with deceptive men, nor do I fellowship with pretenders” (Berkley). “I do not sit with false persons, nor fellowship with pretenders” (AMP).

Christians have been taught for years that Jesus is a “receiver” of men. I believe this with all of my heart. But, I see Jesus as a “rejecter” of men also. Some early followers of Jesus “believed” in Jesus but He did not believe in them (John 2:23-25). He did not commit Himself to them because He saw insincerity in their hearts. They were false in motive and they were pretenders of the faith. We, too, must be “receivers” of others, and we must commit ourselves to rescuing the lost sheep and those who have gone astray. We must, however, also be “rejecters” of the pretenders of the faith (Galatians 2:4-6). Earthly ties did not cause Jesus to soften His spiritual standards. His mother and brothers were those who did the will of the Father (Mark 3:31-35). The spiritual side of Jesus took precedence over every other relationship. Jesus never turns away a needy seeking soul, but He scorns the religious showman, the pretender, and the false. The religious showman is committed only to the welfare of his own purse and stomach and ego. This kind abounds today. If Jesus did not believe in them two thousand years ago, why should we? If Jesus committed Himself to those who seek and work righteousness, so should we (Acts 10:35). The Lord said in Psalm 101:4, “A froward heart shall depart from me: I will not know a wicked person” (KJV). Jesus will know and hear a righteous person. Note Psalm 5:3-4… “My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up. For thou art not a God that hath pleasure in wickedness: neither shall evil dwell with thee.” Today, we are warned to beware of the scam artists… yet in the religious world, people love the scam.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved