The Perils Of Waiting For A Stronger Conviction, Pt. 2

(Part 2 of 2)

Examples of conviction:

1) Conviction reveals sin… John 8:1-11… “And they which heard it, being convicted by their own conscience, went out one by one” (v. 9, KJV). The revelation Jesus gave to the people who were ready to stone the woman revealed their own sins. He brought them to a point of decision, but they chose to walk away rather than to ask for forgiveness. Every person must respond to and move on the conviction when it comes. Alas, many do not and continue with their hurts. Your actions reveal how you handled the Spirit’s word to your heart.

2) Conviction reveals destiny… Psalm 73:1-28… “Thus my heart was grieved, and I was pricked [convicted] in my reins” (v. 21, KJV). The Spirit was dealing with this man’s envy and jealousy. He began to wonder, “Was becoming a Christian wrong? Did I believe in vain?” Conviction brought him to a point of decision, he chose to come into the sanctuary, and there God showed him the difference between the sinner’s end and the Christian’s end.

3) Conviction gives assurance… Psalm 16:7… “I will bless the LORD, who hath given me counsel: my reins also instruct me in the night seasons” (KJV). David was under conviction about eternal preservation. “Where will I spend eternity?” The Holy Spirit assured him that his soul would not be left in hell because he walked in the paths of life that God had laid down.

4) Conviction calls for self-examination… Psalm 26:1-2… “Judge me, O LORD . . . Examine me, O LORD, and prove me; try my reins and my heart” (KJV). The Holy Spirit will often call for self-examination. When was the last time you checked your heart? David had asked the Lord to “check him out” just in case he associated himself with a wrong thing. It’s not wrong to ask the Lord to see if you made any errors in your life lately. David said that if he did wrong, he would settle it at God’s altars. David “moved” on that conviction when it came.

5) Conviction can hurt you… Psalm 39:3… “My heart was hot within me, while I was musing the fire burned” (KJV). David was convicted with, “I better watch out for what I say and do in front of sinners.” However, he also held back from saying good things. This convicted him… he finally spoke out, and in speaking, he was released. The Living Bible says in verse 10, “Lord, don’t hit me anymore–I am exhausted beneath your hand.” Conviction, unless responded to, can crumble you like the crumbling of the wings of a moth.

6) Conviction is a good thing… It is the Holy Spirit doing His job of reproving sin in your life, of prompting you to move forward in your life, of showing you the ways of righteousness, and of letting you know that the devil is defeated. If you are having problems in your life now, the conviction you feel may very well be the Spirit’s care for you. Welcome that conviction as a friend. Conviction is a blessing. What if you never experience conviction? There is a danger in waiting for a stronger conviction. You must move on the conviction that you have now in order to be helped by the Holy Spirit.

Now then, how are you handling the conviction that the Holy Spirit is bringing to your heart right now? Conviction isn’t just for sinners; it’s for Christians, too. Are you obeying what He has asked you to do, to pray more, to give more, to believe more, to move out and come forward for anointed prayer? Or… do you walk away and wait for stronger conviction? Conviction can stop coming (Genesis 6:3). Conviction is God speaking to you right now.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved