Knowing God As My Friend, Pt. 1

(Part 1 of 2)

JOB 29… is the testimony of a Spirit-filled husband and father. This chapter was considered one of the most important documents for Jewish students. It deals with the ethics of a God-fearing man. The key is found in verse 4, “When the secret of God was upon my tabernacle” (KJV). The Living Bible says, “When the friendship of God was felt in my home.” The NIV says, “When God’s intimate friendship blessed my house.” The word “friendship” refers to the affection of a brother. It is taken from a word meaning “to pasture a flock or to feed a flock,” or “a favored companion with whom you have a warm relationship; one who is dear to you and one whom you trust.” The word “secret” means “intimacy, friendship, the presence of God in the home,” or “the Lord sharing His secrets in intimate consultation and communion,” or “the Lord sitting on my reclining cushion and talking with me.”

What happens when God’s friendship is felt in the home? A verse by verse exposition…

V. 2… When God’s friendship was felt in my home, my memory was active… The Lord preserved me, watched over me, hedged me, guarded me, kept me safe from injury, kept me alive, and kept my home intact. He maintained me and prepared a future for me. Job was under God’s continued supervision.

V. 3… When God’s friendship was in my home, my mind was anointed… By His light, I was able to walk through the darkness. God illuminated me as I walked through dark times. God gave me insight when I faced difficult decisions.

V. 4… When the friendship of God was felt in my home, God was a familiar guest in my home… The Lord was in my circles of acquaintances, in my own home, not just in church.

V. 5… When the friendship of God was felt in my home, the Almighty was with me, and my children saw it… The children saw their dad talking with God. The children were around him; i.e., they were a close family. They were knit together in love. Many families are worlds apart in their own homes. Many children see their fathers doing wrong things today.

V. 6… When the friendship of God was felt in Job’s home, there was abundance… Both butter and oil are symbols of the anointing. There was a supply of the Spirit in the home. The context of this verse is that desert sands were hard on the feet and ankles, and the wealthy used butter and ointment to soothe their feet. The presence of God in your home is the best thing for tired feet. God took care of tired feet… so did Jesus in John 13.

V. 7… When the friendship of God was felt in the home, the father was a better man on the job. The gate refers to Job’s work as a magistrate. People do a better job when they know God’s presence.

Vv. 8-10… When the friendship of God was felt in the home, the young and the old respected the man’s authority and wisdom… People listened to, obeyed, and honored this God-fearing head of the household. It was not hate or envy, but esteem. Job 27:5 says, “Till I die I will not put away my integrity from me” (NASB). When hardships come, many men lose their integrity.

V. 11… When the friendship of God is felt in the home there is respect, receptivity and reward… God’s presence helped Job to release his gifts. People saw this and this brought him great rewards. People spoke of Job’s ministry. They perceived that he was a man of God and that God’s call was upon him. “A man’s gift will make room for him.” Note also Proverbs 22:11… “He that loveth pureness of heart, for the grace of his lips the king shall be his friend” (KJV).

Vv. 12-13… When the friendship of God is felt in the home Job was able to help the handicapped, the poor, and the widows. There was divine love and compassion in his heart. Job was able to help those who were hurting. The anointing goes where God puts His attention (Luke 4:18-19).

(To be continued…)

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved