Drink: A Tramp’s Testimony

Proverbs 20:1… “Wine is a mocker, Strong drink is a brawler, And whoever is led astray by it is not wise” (NKJV).

A tramp wandered into a saloon and asked the bartender for a drink. The request was granted and in the act of drinking, a young man present shouted, “Make a speech! Preach us a sermon!” The tramp swallowed his drink, and as the liquor coursed through his veins, he straightened out and stood before them with grace and dignity and said, “Gentlemen, I look tonight at you and at myself, and it seems to me that I am looking on and seeing in you the picture of my blighted manhood. This bloated face was once as handsome as yours. This stumbling figure once walked as proudly as some of you do, for I was a man of the world too. I too once had a home and a family, and sons and daughters and friends and position. I had a wife as beautiful as an artist’s dream, but I dropped the priceless pearl of honor and respect into a cup of wine, and saw it dissolved. I had children sweet and pure as the flowers in spring, and saw them fade and die under the curse of a drunken father. I had a home where love lit its flame upon the altar and ministered before it. I put out that holy fire and darkness and desolation reigned instead. I had aspirations which soared as high as the noonday sun, but I broke and bruised them and strangled them in beer and wine. Today, I am a man without a home and without a family and without children. I am a tramp and a man in whom every impulse is dead, because I have been swallowed up in drink. I took my first drink, and after that the drink took me.” The tramp stopped speaking, and the glass fell from his hand. The crowd was silenced, and with tears flowing down his cheeks, he walked out the door and disappeared into the night.

–F.E. Marsh, Illustrated Bible Study Outlines

Proverbs 20:1 teaches that we should listen to the wisdom of the wise and do not be deceived by strong drink. Habakkuk 2:15 teaches, “Woe to him who gives drink to his neighbor, Pressing him to your bottle, Even to make him drunk, That you may look on his nakedness!” (NJKV). Isaiah 5:11 says, “Woe unto them that rise up early in the morning, That they may follow strong drink; Who continue until night, till wine inflames them!” (KJV). Benjamin Franklin wrote, “Some of the domestic evils of drunkenness are houses without windows, gardens without fences, fields without tillage, barns without roofs, children without clothing, and men and women without principles, morals, or manners.” Many Christians have become addicted to drink. Proverbs 23:31-32 reads, “Look not thou upon the wine when it is red, when it giveth his color in the cup, when it moveth itself aright. At the last it biteth like a serpent, and stingeth like an adder.” The writer also gives the results of drink–woes, sorrows, contentions, babbling, wounds without cause, making immoral advances to the opposite sex, filthy conversations, anger, fights, and more…

I felt strong in my spirit to write this… Someone is needing help…

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved