Send Me

Isaiah 6:8… “Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then said I, Here am I; send me” (KJV).  Or, “Behold me.” Many Christians want to serve the Lord. That’s wonderful. However, they want to serve the Lord before the coal from heaven’s altar touches their lips. Before the coal touched the lips of Isaiah, he said that he was a man of unclean lips, or full of wrong words. “My speech was wrong.” After the coal cleansed Isaiah’s lips, he was ready to speak God’s words. Many people say that the “need” constitutes the call of God. There are thousands of needs, but which need am I called to minister to?

The genuine call from God is usually supernatural, and it is a directive that lets someone know the chosen area of what they are called to do. A person called by God can pass thousands of needs, because to stop and try to fill every need you find may actually be a distraction that hinders you from what God has for you to do. Many people miss out on God’s call because they are careless listeners. There are many “sounds” (voices) in the world. Which one are you hearing?

When the call came to Isaiah, he responded with, “Behold me; send me.” He heard the voice of God. Isaiah was not moved by sentiment. The human heart is soft and compassionate, easily moved by a speaker who can stir their hearts by reminding them of the multitudes begging to hear the gospel. Except for those whom the Holy Spirit touches, sinners do not beg for the gospel. They beg to be left alone. If sentiment is the basis for your call, you will soon be miserable, full of doubt and in despair. Human sentiment is not redemptive. We need more than emotional involvement to push back the kingdoms of darkness.

Isaiah was not moved by manipulation to serve God. Many people are manipulated into going where God has not called them. Many pastors send people out on trips just to make the church look good. Usually those sent are at the mercy of those who send them. When God calls you, you are placed at His mercy and in His supply. How can I tell who is calling me? By the test of time. When God calls, that call and His purposes for the call will grow stronger each day. There is only one way to be ready for God’s call… It is to be a careful listener.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved