P.U.S.H. (Pray Until Something Happens)

A man was sleeping at night in his cabin. Suddenly a light filled the room and the Lord appeared. The Lord said, “I have a work for you to do,” and showed him a big rock just outside his cabin door. The Lord explained to the man, “All I want you to do is to push against this rock.” The man did this day after day, week after week, year after year, from sun up to sun down. Each night the man entered his cabin, sore and worn out, feeling that his whole day had been wasted. The devil, seeing his discouragement, entered the picture by giving the man negative thoughts. Satan gave the impression that the work was impossible, and that he was a failure. The man thought about giving up, but decided to pray about it.

“Lord,” he said, “I have worked long and hard in your service, putting all my strength towards all that you have asked me to do… and I have not even managed to budge this rock. Why am I failing?” The Lord responded, “My friend, when I asked you to do this task, you accepted. Your task was to push the rock, and you have done that. Never once did I mention that I expected you to move the rock. Your task was to push. You have not failed me. Look at yourself, your arms and legs are strong. Through opposition you have grown, and your abilities now surpass that which you used to have. Now, my friend, I will move the rock.”

There are times we hear a word from God and use our own intellect to decipher what we think He wants, when actually all that he requires is simple obedience and faith in Him. He wants us to exercise the faith that moves mountains. He also wants us to know that it is still God who moves the mountains.

When everything seems to go wrong… just P.U.S.H. When your job gets you down… just P.U.S.H. When your money runs out… just P.U.S.H. When people do not understand you… just P.U.S.H… P=pray… U=until… S=something… H=happens (from Linda F.).

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved