Rags

My name is Rags. I am a country dog and chasing rabbits is my game. I don’t know what I would ever do with a rabbit if I caught one though. Don’t laugh… you humans chase rabbits too. Many of your rabbits are your fantasies, your lusts, your “get rich quick” schemes, or your false dreams. I woke up one morning and there was my friend Thumper. It was a good day for a chase and off we went, over the fields and through some brush. And just when I thought I would catch him, we both fell into a dried-up well about twenty feet down. There we were, looking at each other, with no way out. Thumper couldn’t bark, so I would bark every so often. Three days went by and I thought I heard someone calling my name. I barked and my cries were heard. My master found me and came down the well to rescue me. He put us in his arms and just as he was starting to climb, Thumper kicked him. He bumped into a crossbeam and Thumper fell back down. I was brought up, rescued and given some water to drink, and the master said, “Let’s go home.” I went to the well opening and looked down and barked, as if to say, “My master will save you too.” No way would I budge from the well opening until the master went down and brought up Thumper. After Thumper had been saved, I sniffed him all over to see if he was okay, as if to say, “I’ll catch you another day,” and went home.

I have a message for you humans… There is an impulse within each one of you to chase after your “rabbit” (fantasy) until you end up in a hole with no way out. Is there an impulse in you also to see another saved? Unless someone rescues them, they will perish. Jesus came after three days and rescued you. Psalm 40:2 says, “He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings” (KJV).

Many of you humans never think to see to it that the one who was in the pit with you needs rescuing. In Job 33:30 God works “To bring back his soul from the pit, to be enlightened with the light of the living” (KJV).

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved