Breaking Point, Pt. 5: A Novice With An Anointing

(Part 5 of 5)

A NOVICE WITH AN ANOINTING

Elihu, a man with a ministry in the realm of the Spirit, began to speak under the anointing of the Spirit, but then he too started to criticize. Even though a man may have a good ministry, he can hurt the cause of healing.

In Job 32:1, “These three men ceased to answer Job, because he was righteous in his own eyes” (KJV). The Scripture says that these three people got angry with Job because he justified himself rather than God. Here is Elihu (a novice ministry), provoked in spirit. “Also against his three friends was his wrath kindled, because they found no answer, and yet condemned Job” (Job 32:3, KJV). That sounds just like Christians of our time. Elihu had waited until the others has spoken because they were older than he. “When Elihu saw there was no answer in the mouth of these three men, then was his wrath kindled. And Elihu the son of Barachel the Buzite answered and said, I am young, and ye are very old; wherefore was I afraid, and durst not shew you mine opinion. I said, days should speak, and multitude of years should teach wisdom” (Job 32:5-7). This is good teaching. Now listen, you novices in the ministry, respect the words of your elders.

But notice how he is beginning to move in the realm of the Spirit. In verse 8, “But there is a spirit in man: and the inspiration of the Almighty giveth them understanding” (KJV; my favorite verse). Remember that I said the spirit of a man will minister to his infirmity, and here it is: “There is a spirit in man: and the inspiration of the Almighty [the anointing] giveth them understanding.” Great men are not always wise, neither do they understand judgment (Job 32:9). This made the other three so angry that they just closed their mouths.

In Job 32:18-19, Elihu says, “For I am full of matter [full of words], the spirit within me constraineth me [or urges me on]. Behold, my belly is as wine which hath no vent; it is ready to burst like new bottles” (KJV). When the Spirit of God begins to move in you, this same spirit is working inside of you. “I will speak, that I may be refreshed” (Job 32:20). If you keep holding it in, you’re liable to burst. “I’ll open my lips and I’ll answer.” He goes on to say he’ll not give flattering titles in Job 32:21, 22. Then in Job 33:12 he begins to minister under the anointing of the Spirit. “Behold, in this thou art not just: I will answer thee, that God is greater than man.” Oh, I like that. Only an anointed person would testify to this. “God is greater than man. Why dost thou strive against him? for he giveth not account of any of his matters. God speaketh once, yea twice, yet man perceiveth it not” (Job 33:12-14). Elihu gives a great anointed message, and then in verse 31 he says, “Mark well, O Job, hearken unto me; hold thy peace, and I will speak.” In other words, verse 31 was the end of the anointed message. This is where trouble comes in.

Danger Of Going Beyond The Anointing

Follow me carefully in Job 34:1. You can underline the word “FURTHERMORE.” You know, if we start with the anointing and stop with the anointing, there would be no need of the furthermore. Many men and many women have quit; they caved in their spirit because somebody had “furthermore” to say. In Job 35:1, “Elihu spake MOREOVER” (KJV). First it’s furthermore, now moreover; he wasn’t finished yet. In Job 36:1, “Elihu also PROCEEDED and said.” You just couldn’t shut this novice up. And in 37:1, “At this ALSO.” Elihu just kept on speaking until finally God stepped in. In Job 38:2, God said to Job, “Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?” In other words, God says, “Enough is enough. Why don’t you quit when the anointing lifts, because after that, what you say is only going to make matters worse instead of enlightening. Your words will only darken.”

God Tells The Truth

God steps in and He says to Job in chapter 38:3, “Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me” (KJV). When God said to Job, “Quit caving, gird up your loins, look up now, keep looking up, and get your spirit right so I can deal with you,” He meant it. God said to Job, “Get your spirit right and I can reach you.” In chapter 40:1-5, Job started to confess his wrong speaking, and he started to uncover all his wrong thoughts. When you look up to God, your spirit will be made right and you are going to speak right words. In chapter 42:4-6, Job comes to this conclusion, “Lord, I see YOU now.” All the time that Job was having his pity party, and all the time that he cursed the day of his birth, he wasn’t looking up. He was arguing with God on the inside. He was hardening his heart in sorrow.

What made him curse his day? Just four things. He started to blame God for something the devil did. He started to fill his own heart with self-pity. His spouse quit on him. His three friends, instead of ministering to him, added to his affliction. Job quit. He had nobody else. God can’t minister to you if you start blaming Him for what the devil did. God can’t minister to you if you’re full of self-pity. God can’t minister to you through people if they are without the anointing. God works by His Spirit. He will work in man’s own spirit. The spirit of a man, which is the candle of the Lord, will minister to his infirmity. God will work through ministries who edify.

Kind David said in Psalm 142:3, “When my spirit was overwhelmed within me I was wide open to all the affliction of the devil” (paraphrase of the Hebrew). When your spirit is overwhelmed like Job’s was, your spirit is broken, your wall is down, your guard is down, and your faith is gone. When your spirit is down to the quitting point or the breaking point, then your faith is gone as well. You will not listen to Scripture, your loved ones, or God, because you are fighting him and everybody else on the inside. God wants to bring your soul out of prison. Some of you are bound and you are in prison. You are on the verge of breaking, and your heart is crying, “Bring my soul out of prison that I might praise you. Bring my soul out of prison that I might love you.” You can have victory now. See Jesus and not the devil. Let your spirit minister to you.

PRAYER… Jesus, forgive me for self-pity, for cursing the day of my birth. Forgive me for my wrong attitudes towards you and towards my family and friends. Jesus, heal my spirit, and heal my infirmity now. Thank you Jesus for hearing me. Let your word be magnified in me once again. Lord, I see you as greater than the devil, as greater than my sickness. I praise you, Lord, for Satan can’t touch my life. I claim your promise this day, Lord. AMEN.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2011 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved