The Cross–Seven Words, Pt. 2

(Part 2 of 2)

IV. The Word of Anguish

Matthew 27:46… “And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?” (KJV). The word “forsaken” is a terrifying word, especially when God forsakes someone. These words were words of prophecy by David in Psalm 22:1. Here we see the awfulness of sin and its wages. The wages of sin is God’s silence. Psalm 66:18 teaches, “If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me.” Sin separates us from God. Jesus on the cross was bearing our sins. Note 1 Peter 2:24, “He personally carried away our sins in his own body on the cross so we can be dead to sin and live for what is right. You have been healed by his wounds!” (NLT). Jesus’ words of anguish show us the absolute holiness of God and His true justice. God is holy. He judges sin wherever it is found. He is also love and delights in mercy, and through Christ, He forgives sin. Upon our acceptance of Christ as our Lord and Savior, God’s justice is satisfied. Christ bore our curse and all our iniquities. Galatians 3:13 states, ”Christ hath redeemed us from the curse of the law, being made a curse for us: for it is written, Cursed is every one that hangeth on a tree” (KJV). Jesus died on the cross to save us. You are no longer forsaken, but redeemed.

V. The Word of Suffering

John 19:28-29… “After this, Jesus knowing that all things were now accomplished, that the scripture might be fulfilled, saith, I thirst. Now there was set a vessel full of vinegar: and they filled a sponge with vinegar, and put it upon hyssop, and put it to his mouth” (KJV). David prophesies in Psalm 69:21, “They gave me also gall for my meat; and in my thirst they gave me vinegar to drink.” The words “I thirst” show a universal need. There is a craving in man that needs satisfying. That craving is a thirst for God. The only thing that can satisfy the spirit is God himself. Here on the cross, Jesus bore our thirst. Psalm 42:1-2 reads, “As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God. My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?” Are you thirsty? Come to Jesus. Isaiah 55:1 invites us, “Ho, every one that thirsteth, come ye to the waters, and he that hath no money; come ye, buy, and eat; yea, come, buy wine and milk without money and without price.” When someone comes to you with a thirst, what do you give them? Note Matthew 25:35-40… “For I was an hungered, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me. Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungered, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink? When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee? Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee? And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

VI. The Word of Victory

John 19:30… “When Jesus therefore had received the vinegar, he said, It is finished: and he bowed his head, and gave up the ghost” (KJV). It is finished. Jesus triumphed. He finished His Father’s will. He was no longer a victim, but a Victor. Atonement was complete. Satan was bruised once and for all. All the prophesies of redemption in the Old Testament climaxed here. A new creation was birthed when Jesus uttered these words. The works that the Father gave Jesus to do were finished (John 5:36, 17:4). There is a day coming for you. Are the works the Father gave you to do finished? Paul said in 2 Timothy 4:7-8, “I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith: Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.

VII. The Word of Contentment

Luke 23:46… “And when Jesus had cried with a loud voice, he said, Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit: and having said thus, he gave up the ghost” (KJV). It was after His cry, “It is finished,” that Jesus uttered these words of contentment. Jesus had given His body and He was forsaken; then He gave up his spirit–His last act. He was filled with contentment. There was no fight, just a release. He accomplished His Father’s will. Psalm 31:1-5 prophesies of the last act of Christ. He was confident. He did not fear death. He was totally submissive. A lot of folks die without contentment. They die in fear, not knowing if God will accept them. Many die without peace. Have you prepared your soul for eternity? It starts by doing the Father’s will. 2 Peter 3:9 teaches, “The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved