In God Nothing But Goodness

Psalm 92:14-15… “Even in old age they will still produce fruit; they will remain vital and green. They will declare, ‘The LORD is just! He is my rock! There is nothing but goodness in him!‘” (NLT)

In a recent dream/vision my spirit heard the words, “Now is the time to worship; now is the time to praise the Lord.” I wondered if I was being prepared for a trial of sorts. I began to reflect on God’s lovingkindness. Psalm 28:7-8 says, “The LORD is my strength, my shield from every danger. I trust in him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving. The LORD protects his people and gives victory to his anointed” (NLT). A good example is the loving care God gave to Elijah… Let’s look.

1 Kings 19:3… After the confrontation with the priests of Baal, Elijah ran for his life. He was afraid, and wanted to die. Weariness, fatigue, and depression had entered into his spirit. God responded to all of this in verses 5-8: “Arise and eat” (v. 5, KJV). God ministered to Elijah’s physical needs first. “Elijah, you must eat.” Often in a trial it’s our body that needs God’s help and not our spirit. Elijah had worn himself out; his energy was gone and his muscles were weary. Sometimes it’s hard to listen when we are physically burned out. After Elijah’s body was ministered to, God ministered to Elijah’s spirit in “a still small voice” (v. 12). That voice and word assured Elijah that God was with him.

When the body is tired there is a feeling of isolation. The human spirit is not able to comprehend God’s nearness. God gave Elijah some extra attention (vv. 9-15). There are times we need more than just care for the body–we need Him and His presence and His Word. God was not finished with Elijah… “You must continue to function as a prophet (vv. 15-16). Elijah, as your strength returns, your ministry returns.” God is full of goodness to all. 1 Peter 5:7 says, “Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about what happens to you” (NLT). Yes, my trial came. The outward man endured… the inner man worshipped.

Pastor George Belobaba

Copyright © 2012 by Scripture Nuggets Ministries
All rights reserved